Maa Shailputri : The first form of Navdurga

Goddess Shailputri comes first in the list of nine facets of Maa Durga and is worshiped on the first day of Navratri festival. Navratri is a holy festival to pay remembrance to Maa Nav Durga. The name literally means the 9 divine forms of Goddess Durga or Shakti. She is the prime manifestation of Goddess Durga, and therefore, the starting day is devoted to her. Shailputri is the appearance of nature in totality. She is also known as Bhavani, Sati, Hemavati or Parvati. Shailputri is also considered to be Goddess Parvati, the wife of Lord Shiva, the mother of Kartikeya and Ganesha. She represents planet earth including air, water, soil and all of the Earth’s unique resources and atmosphere.

Goddess Shailputri The first form of NavDurga

Appearance of Maa Shailputri

To depict her form, her godly self-embellishes a half-moon on her forehead and is holding a Trishool (a Trident javelin) in one hand and lotus in the other. She is riding on a bull- Nandi. Her name signifies the meaning of her existence; “Putri” is daughter and “Shail” is mountains or rocks. Hence, the name transliterates meaning the one, who is created by the mountains. Her color is little clear red. According to the Hindu mythology, Shailputri rules the planet of Moon-the giver of fortunes and anybody who has an ill effect of Moon in his life can overcome all his problems by worshiping the Goddess.


She is known to be born to King Daksha in her previous birth. Her name Sati or bhawani meaning the better half of Lord Shiva has a very interesting story behind it. Once, King Daksha arranged for a huge Yagya ceremony and did not call Lord Shiva. However, Sati in the love of her father reached there. Instead of inviting Shiva, King Daksha insulted him. Shailputri could not stand her husband’s insult, and therefore, burnt herself alive in the flames of the Yagya. When Shiva came to know about this, he got angry and opened his third eye. The entire world started dwindling with the terror of Shiva’s wrath and destruction started. On seeing the fury of Shiva, various Gods and Goddess assembled and begged mercy for the survival of mankind and requested Lord Shiva to calm down so humans could live. Then, Shiva to stop his anger butchered the body of Sati, and her body parts fell in different parts of the country. Those places are now known temples and are known by the name of the body part that fell there.

In her subsequent birth, Sati reincarnated as Parvati and was born to the Parvat Raj Himalaya. She is known as Goddess Shailputri in the various forms of Durga. Shailputri is of enormous importance among the various forms of Durga, and there are numerous stories citing tales of her glory in the past.

According to various Hindu scriptures, the power of Shailputri is emphasized for attaining higher spiritual elevation. The shail is the first thing to be comprehended within oneself to gain deeper depths in yoga or meditation. Human existence has layers of maya (illusion), which does not let an individual look for deeper meanings of life. People are always bothered about their material possession even after knowing the ultimate truth of death. Wealth is not permanent and it’s a fact well-established, and everybody knows about it. But even then the man cannot escape the lure of wealth and spends the major part of his lifetime in amassing material passions. One who realizes the deeper meaning of existence should worship Shailputri as she is the Shakti, who gives spiritual rewards rather than the physical ones.

How to worship maa shailputri / Puja vidhi

The pooja starts with the foundation of the Kalash on the very first day of Navratri. Maa Shailputri is venerated as first aspect of Goddess Durga representing compassion and love. Thus, all the sacred rivers, gods, seas, planets, directions, lord of the community are called upon and urged to inhabit inside the Kalash. Kalash is also packed with 7 varieties of soil (Saptmritika), nut, clay and coins of five different kinds.

There are 7 kinds of barley and grains sowed below the Kalash and later cut on the 10th day, which is then offered to the Gods and Goddesses. This tradition is known as Jayanti and is carried out along with the chanting, “Jayanti Mangla Kali Bhadrakali Kapalini, Durga Shama Shiva Dhatri Swaha, Swadha Namostute”. Post this action; the Jayanti is speckled over the family members so that the Goddess may bless the entire family and take care of their sufferings.

Shailputri mata mantra

ॐ देवी शैलपुत्र्यै नमः॥
Om Devi Shailaputryai Namah॥


वन्दे वाञ्छितलाभाय चन्द्रार्धकृतशेखराम्।
वृषारूढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्रीं यशस्विनीम्॥

Vande Vanchhitalabhaya Chandrardhakritashekharam।
Vrisharudham Shuladharam Shailaputrim Yashasvinim॥


या देवी सर्वभू‍तेषु माँ शैलपुत्री रूपेण संस्थिता। नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नमः॥

Ya Devi Sarvabhuteshu Maa Shailaputri Rupena Samsthita।
Namastasyai Namastasyai Namastasyai Namo Namah॥

Dhyana (ध्यान) –

वन्दे वाञ्छितलाभाय चन्द्रार्धकृतशेखराम्।
वृषारूढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्रीं यशस्विनीम्॥
पूणेन्दु निभाम् गौरी मूलाधार स्थिताम् प्रथम दुर्गा त्रिनेत्राम्।
पटाम्बर परिधानां रत्नाकिरीटा नामालंकार भूषिता॥
प्रफुल्ल वन्दना पल्लवाधरां कान्त कपोलाम् तुगम् कुचाम्।
कमनीयां लावण्यां स्नेमुखी क्षीणमध्यां नितम्बनीम्॥

Vande Vanchhitalabhaya Chandrardhakritashekharam।
Vrisharudham Shuladharam Shailaputrim Yashasvinim॥
Punendu Nibham Gauri Muladhara Sthitam Prathama Durga Trinetram।
Patambara Paridhanam Ratnakirita Namalankara Bhushita॥
Praphulla Vandana Pallavadharam Kanta Kapolam Tugam Kucham।
Kamaniyam Lavanyam Snemukhi Kshinamadhyam Nitambanim॥

Stotra (स्तोत्र)-

प्रथम दुर्गा त्वंहि भवसागरः तारणीम्।
धन ऐश्वर्य दायिनी शैलपुत्री प्रणमाम्यहम्॥
त्रिलोजननी त्वंहि परमानन्द प्रदीयमान्।
सौभाग्यरोग्य दायिनी शैलपुत्री प्रणमाम्यहम्॥
चराचरेश्वरी त्वंहि महामोह विनाशिनीं।
मुक्ति भुक्ति दायिनीं शैलपुत्री प्रणमाम्यहम्॥

Prathama Durga Tvamhi Bhavasagarah Taranim।
Dhana Aishwarya Dayini Shailaputri Pranamamyaham॥
Trilojanani Tvamhi Paramananda Pradiyaman।
Saubhagyarogya Dayini Shailaputri Pranamamyaham॥
Charachareshwari Tvamhi Mahamoha Vinashinim।
Mukti Bhukti Dayinim Shailaputri Pranamamyaham॥

Kavacha (कवच)-

ॐकारः में शिरः पातु मूलाधार निवासिनी।
हींकारः पातु ललाटे बीजरूपा महेश्वरी॥
श्रींकार पातु वदने लावण्या महेश्वरी।
हुंकार पातु हृदयम् तारिणी शक्ति स्वघृत।
फट्कार पातु सर्वाङ्गे सर्व सिद्धि फलप्रदा॥

Omkarah Mein Shirah Patu Muladhara Nivasini।
Himkarah Patu Lalate Bijarupa Maheshwari॥
Shrimkara Patu Vadane Lavanya Maheshwari।
Humkara Patu Hridayam Tarini Shakti Swaghrita।
Phatkara Patu Sarvange Sarva Siddhi Phalaprada॥

The various forms of Durga are worshipped across our country and considered to be the divine powers whose blessings can end sufferings and pain. One can gain a lot from worshipping various Gods and Goddesses. The gain can be either material or spiritual. While offering prayers, we should not just ask the deities to fulfill our material wishes but also to bless our spiritually. Our spiritual elevation is of supreme importance, and this aspect of life is often forgotten. Spiritual elevation cannot merely be realized by doing bhakti, but one should also do “dhyaan” or meditation so as to spiritually enlighten them.

Shailputri is the pure form of Shakti and represents nature in the true sense. She blesses us all with the natural embodiments of nature. Worshipping the Goddess can bring peace and prosperity in your life along with calmness. Shailputri is the first aspect of “Shakti” or Durga. She is the consort of Lord Shiva. There are numerous stories narrated in the Vishnu Purana, which profess the greatness of the Goddess. She awakens the sleeping energies in our bodies and can help alleviate us from the pain and sufferings of the material world.

Other Forms of Navdurga:

Maa Kalratri

Maa Chandraghanta

Maa Kushmanda

Goddess Mahagauri

Maa Katyayani

Maa Brahmacharini

Maa Siddhidatri

Maa Skandamata